National Signing Day Event

On Wednesday, February 1, Golden West College held a National Letter of Intent Signing Party for 35 GWC athletes who have received financial assistants and/or have committed to playing at a Division I, II or III 4-year University for the Fall of 2012.

National Signing Day most commonly refers to a day in February, usually on the first Wednesday of that month, which is the first day that a high school senior can sign a binding National Letter of Intent for college football with a school that is a member of the NCAA.

The GWC Athletic Department chose this popular day in sports to honor athletes who are transferring to a 4-year college or university. The number is expected to more than double by the end of this semester.

At the ceremony, Albert Gasparian, Dean of Health, Kinesiology, and Athletics, reminded us that GWC athletes complete an average of 14 units per semester with a higher GPA than the college average.

The following students were recognized:

 Track & Field

Jacquelene Powell  –   UC Berkeley
Juliana Powell  –  University of Hawaii

Men’s Water Polo

Duncan Burrows  –  Cal Poly SLO
Luca DeVivo  –  UC San Diego
Miso Halac  –  St. Francis
Eddie Long  –  Chapman
Marko Madaras  –  Pepperdine
Brian McSweeney  –  Chapman
Paul Miernicki  –  University of the Pacific
Kevin Oliveira  –  University of the Pacific
Bero Rusz  –  St. Francis
Spencer VanHome   – UC San Diego
Nic Hanson  –  LMU

Women’s Volleyball
Klaire Blasco  –  Southern Arkansas
Paige Quinones   – West Texas A&M

Women’s Soccer

Rosmary Orlando  –  Whittier University
Kate Swart  –  Montana


Laau Asoau  –  Tarleton State University
Ben Chapple  –  Wagner University
Auston Dotson  –  Sacramento State University
Will Ervin  –  Trinity Bible College
Edgar Esqueda  –  Humboldt State
Chris Fiscus –   Faulkner University
Danny Flores  –  Ottawa University
John Graves –   South East Louisiana
Ray Huizar  –  Bacone University
Jake McDowell  –  Towson University
Roth Mendoza  –  Michigan Tech University
Keifer Neal –   East Carolina University
Michael Pierre  –  University of South Florida
Dreu Rhodes  –  Trinity Bible College
Donny Ruggles  –  Faulkner University
Evan Scoville  –  University of San Diego
Andrew Williams  –  Central Washington University