The 2013 Staff Appreciation Breakfast was Bittersweet

On Wednesday morning, May 22, GWC held its annual Staff Appreciation Breakfast. It is a happy-sad day. We had to say farewell to ten retirees, and then recognized our Employees of the Month and named the Employee of the Year, announced the Teacher of the Year, and surprised the recipient of the Charlie Sianez Exceptional Service Award.

The ten retirees represented 285 years of service to the District, ranging from 15 to 39 years.  They were individually brought to the stage as their accomplishments were read and were given a golden apple.

2012-2013 Retirees
Trish Fipps, Counselor 15 years
Tom Kubis, Music Instructor 34 years
Candace Brenner, Instructional Associate 38 years
Jan Harmon, Multimedia Development Specialist 27 years
Pam Pacheco, Staff Assistant and PT Instructor 17 years
Norma Pollaro, Staff Assistant Confidential 15 years
Cathy Prince, Warehouse Coordinator 39 years
Dan Songster, Lead Groundskeeper 38 years
Margie Bunten, Director, Foundation & Community Relations 23 years
Shirley Donnelly, Director, Enrollment Services 39 years

Dr. Paul Tayyar was named Golden West’s Teacher of the Year and is the District’s nominee for the Orange County Teacher of the Year. Paul was nominated by students and selected by the Academic Senate.

The eight employees of the month were recognized on stage – Diane Depretto, Tien Tran, Melissa Fix, Angelyn Tran, Tim Allen, Thomas Truong, Liza Busser, and Laurie Camody. The campus voted for the Employee of the Year earlier in the week and Diane Depretto came out on top. Diane has been providing service with a smile in the Golden West College Personnel Office since 1980, where she began as a student assistant. Over the years, Diane has become an integral part of the GWC family, always working to facilitate our staff and faculty.

The Charlie Sianez Exceptional Service Award is awarded annually to a GWC employee who has exhibited exceptional service to the college or the community. This year’s recipient is Cheryl Tittle,  Veterans Resource Center coordinator. Cheryl was in good company. The other deserving nominees for the award were Fran Faraz, Connie George, Gena Merrigan, Susanne Rosas, Michelle Sambrano, Dan Songster, and Valerie Venegas.

Congratulation to all!

The photos are posted in the GWC photo gallery to view or download.